Broccoli and Chicken Casserole

IMG_1220Broccoli and chicken casserole

Broccoli, chicken breast, kale, quinoa, flour, chicken broth, cream, garlic powder

I used this recipe

Yum yum! The combo of broccoli, cheese, and chicken has always been one of my favourites so I was excited to try making it myself for the first time. I was so happy to have found a recipe of this type that didn’t include a “cream of” soup; this way I saved my stomach from great despair by just including a little cream and a lot of chicken broth for the sauce. I had a little trouble making the sauce because I added too much flour and it got sooooo sticky thick, but I saved it! My only complaint was that it tasted a little bland, like something specific was missing but I couldn’t put my finger on what it was.

While this recipe was darn near perfect I have one word of caution: DO NOT stir everything right before you put it in the oven as suggested. I did this and some of the quinoa from the bottom naturally got scooped to the top. This meant that it didn’t cook, so we had some grains of hard raw quinoa floating around. Not the worst thing in the world but they get stuck in your teeth and don’t taste very good.

Leave a Reply

