Sausage and Quinoa Casserole

IMG_1195 Sausage and quinoa casserole 

Quinoa, Italian turkey sausage, kale, sun-dried tomatoes, olive oil, chicken broth, garlic powder

Found this recipe here

I have lost the battle against yuppy adulthood. This dish has both quinoa and kale, “trendy” foods that I had never eaten before last night. And I have to say, it wasn’t half bad! In fact, my boyfriend loved it! I wish I had bought the cut tomatoes the recipe called for instead of halves because the big chunks were too much for me; otherwise I found this to be very tasty and healthy.

Word of caution if you, like me, have never cooked quinoa: if you don’t have a super fine strainer (like small as a coffee filter) GET ONE NOW else you have to rig up a spoon/bowl system that loses half the grains to the sink drain. After soaking the quinoa I fought with the tiny little grains for a solid half hour trying to get them unstuck from the spoon/bowl/my hands and into the baking dish. That said, it was a very tasty and filling alternative to our usual pasta or rice.

One thought on “Sausage and Quinoa Casserole

Leave a Reply

