Scotch eggs

IMG_1176Scotch Eggs

Eggs, breadcrumbs, Italian sausage

Based on the recipe found here

This is arguably the most interesting dish of my cooking journey so far. 6 months ago, I hadn’t even heard of a Scotch egg but upon seeing them on someone else’s Facebook feed, I knew I had to try them. For those of you who don’t know, a Scotch egg is a boiled egg wrapped in sausage, breaded, and deep fried. Basically high-cholesterol heaven.

Today’s dinner was another team effort with my budding chef of a boyfriend. I boiled and peeled the eggs, he wrapped and breaded them, and I fried them. Neither of us had ever tasted a Scotch egg before so we were excited for this culinary adventure. They were a lot more complicated than anything else I’ve made but so worth it.

Scotch eggs taste exactly how you’d expect them to: like a hard-boiled egg wrapped in fried sausage. They’re greasy, salty, and decadent. When you want to challenge your kitchen skills and delight your taste buds, cook these!

Leave a Reply

