Burrito Bowls

burrito bowlsBurrito Bowls

Ground beef, cheddar cheese, black beans, red bell pepper, rice, salsa, taco seasoning

Found this recipe here

After basically exhausting my own cooking repertoire, I decided to turn to the holy Bible of recipes: Pinterest. My bf and I have been on such a Mexican food bender lately but wanted a new twist on the tired old taco kits from the grocery store. Hence, my first Pinterest dinner was these to-die-for burrito bowls.

The recipe calls for a lot of ingredients, but I cut it down to the list above. It seemed silly to me to put onions and tomatoes in the dish when there was already salsa.  I also made my bowls a touch more healthy by using water in place of the chicken stock. These were my favourite meal so far because they were sinfully tasty and required just one cooking pot; hooray for fewer dishes to wash! The beans and rice make these super filling and the leftovers warm up really well in the microwave. I’ll definitely be making these often!

Leave a Reply

